Echoes of 1994

Posted: August 14, 2011 in Morrissey

 

‘Don’t rake up my mistakes. I know exactly what they are…’

Vauxhall and I. Made Morrissey make sense, entirely, for the first time, for me, separately from The Smiths (because The Smiths only made sense as Morrissey/Marr).

Briefly. Gloriously. Complete.

And now I hear echoes of 1994, and the way hope is contained in sadness, and loss  is contained within joy, and endings are contained within beginnings, and the way the music and the words of that album  summed up that feeling precisely.

And then they catch ‘im, and they say ‘e’s mental…

(I saw some great live vids of this song being performed but the fans jumping on stage to grab a bit of Moz  got on my nerves, and the sound quality wasn’t great so I went for the album version instead. It was the album and its purity I fell in love with/to, after all…)

Comments
  1. marc2020 says:

    “I saw some great live vids of this song being performed but the fans jumping on stage to grab a bit of Moz got on my nerves”

    Good lord I know what you mean I saw him on stage at Leeds festival in 2005 I had only planed on staying somewhere in the middle so I could get a decent view. Yet when he came on stage (to “How soon is Now” I might add excellent) the damn crowd surged forward with all the ferocity of a charging infantry unit and I was nearly crushed by a sea of 35 year old men chanting MORRISSEY! like some deranged battle cry.

    I’m just glad he didn’t take his shirt off (which he had a habit of doing at one point) otherwise I might have been killed.

    Don’t get me wrong though was a great show and I’m glad I saw him. It was just a little scary to see the devotion he commands in people up close like that.

    Great post QRG its nice to find someone who has as much appreciation for his solo efforts as the work he did with the Smiths.

Leave a Reply

