A Perverse Point Of View

Posted: February 18, 2011 in Uncategorized

http://fucktheory.tumblr.com/post/3354397339/the-more-you-talk-about-how-radical-and

‘The More You Talk About How Radical And Non-Normative Your Sexual Practices Are, The More I Hear “I’m A Really Lousy Lay And I Use Pretension To Hide That Fact”’

In other words Mr Fuck Theory seems to be saying: Perversion does not exist, but if it did, I would not be one of those filthy perverts.

He also seems to be saying, Freud? Who he?

Comments
  1. I certainly have these kinds of questions on the mind, as I’m reviewing After Sex: On Writing Since Queer Theory right now.

  2. I just googled it, looks interesting but maybe a bit highbrow? I only recognised one of the names mentioned: Eve Kokofsky. Look forward to your review!

    as for Mr Fuck Theory I think his idea that ‘perversion’ is reactionary is reactionary in itself! I think we all see ourselves and others as deviating from norms at times and this is not a bad thing. we can’t all just occupy these perfect, normallised ‘queer’ bodies and minds with no sense of dissonance. or even shame and discomfort

  3. it’s fun being a Pervert, Quagmire from Family Guy is my Archetype…..

    Freud, didn’t he do cocaine?

    Fuck Theory, naw, Fuck That, some things are better done than talked about….

  4. Fissure says:

    I was hanging around with some psych PhDs a while ago and the mention of Freud elicted general groans of disgruntlement. Apparently he is poorly thought of in academic circles, due to being widely blamed for many of the population’s misperceptions of psychology.

    To paraphrase their theories; “Freud thought everyone was a messed up pervert because Freud was a messed up pervert.”

    • Fissure says:

      I’ll add that I am fond the the phrase “messed up pervert” as the use of “messed up” and “pervert” together implies that the terms are non-redundant. As such it reinforces, or at least enables, the idea that one can be a “pervert” yet not necassarily “messed up”.

      (and visa versa I assume)

  5. elflojo84 says:

    ‘The More You Talk About How Radical And Non-Normative Your Sexual Practices Are, The More I Hear “I’m A Really Lousy Lay And I Use Pretension To Hide That Fact”’

    I the same mold as “It must be true, otherwise why would they deny it?”

    The idea that a statement to the contrary represents proof of what you already believe.

    Moronic.

  6. I’m reviewing it for PopMatters, which is a bit more intellectual than a lot of the sites I review for. It’s a dense book, but very interesting.

Leave a Reply

