Censored

Posted: January 29, 2011 in Uncategorized

There’s a lot of censorship going on at the moment.

I am loathed to watch the news, especially about Egypt, as I don’t want to just see what I am being allowed to see by the authorities, here and in Egypt itself.

Censorship is one of my number one topics of interest and concern.

I get told I am ‘confused’ about censorship. Like I can’t tell the difference between state-controlled censorship and private, personal decisions by people to control their own spaces, e.g. blogs.

I am glad I am confused. It is a confusing issue.

From McCarthy to Craigslist to Apple to Mubarak.

From Johann Hari to the Melbourne Film Festival raids, from Lady Chatterley’s lover to Baise MOi.

From Clause 28 to Section 63.

It’s not all the same. But it all adds up.

The most powerful form of censorship though, is self-censorship.

I’m doing it now.

I just want to be free.

Leave a Reply

