The Best And The Worst

Posted: December 31, 2010 in Uncategorized
//

The skeleton re-animated by William Blake

On this last day of 2010, I read a blogpost by the academic, agony aunt and sex educator, Petra Boynton. She listed ‘the best and worst sex and science stories of 2010’  as portrayed in the media, including the blogosphere. As someone who has been writing some of those stories, I was keen to read it.

Dr Petra missed some key events/media stories in my view, and when I told her she included some of my suggestions but not all.

I am not going to make any judgements in particular now. But I do have a problem with her approach to sex, sexuality, and sex education. My biggest problem with her is that she does not enable comments on her blog! So how she can expect to be nurturing debate and understanding is beyond me.

http://www.drpetra.co.uk/blog/the-best-and-worst-sex-and-science-stories-of-2010/

The use of the word’s ‘the best and the worst’ called to my mind the poem by Yeats’: The Second Coming. Here is the passage that I think is pertinent. I will return to Dr Petra and the tyranny of sex education and ‘sex positivity’  in the New Year. In the meantime, I wish all of you a very happy new year. I think you know and I know that when it comes to our sexualities, we probably aren’t going to find out everything from academics, no matter how ‘sex positive’ they are. I have learned about my sexuality not just from people I have had the (mis)fortune of fucking, but also from poetry, music, fiction, daring journalists and bloggers, brave dissidents and outsiders, from characters in films, from artists, from the words of sex workers, homos, sluts, virgins, idiots and intellectuals. And I am still lost.

Your friend and fellow explorer,

QRG
XXX

TURNING and turning in the widening gyre
The falcon cannot hear the falconer;
Things fall apart; the centre cannot hold;
Mere anarchy is loosed upon the world,
The blood-dimmed tide is loosed, and everywhere
The ceremony of innocence is drowned;
The best lack all conviction, while the worst
Are full of passionate intensity

From WB Yeats The Second Coming

Comments
  1. hmm says:

    I always hold this one close, and now I know yet again, where it’s from:

    The best lack all conviction, while the worst
    Are full of passionate intensity

    And who couldn’t agree with you about teachers but the dullest, dumbest followers?

    Everyone has learned infinitely more from comedians, artists, strangers in the street selling sex for money or begging it for free, family problems and writers and philosophers who all of them thought either
    a. academics are a putrid stagnation of knowledge
    b. they were the only good academics in their time

    Not just in sex but in all things.

Leave a Reply

