Hello, Wall

Posted: November 22, 2010 in Uncategorized

I have come against a brick wall for the first time since I began engag­ing in this con­ver­sa­tion quite a while ago.

It is a big, met­ro­sex­ual, macho, mirror-loving, mus­cly, mas­cu­line brick wall.

Hello wall.

These days I am for­ever ask­ing myself, when faced with walls in dis­course, and in my own writ­ing and life, what would Fou­cault do? What would Foucault’s daugh­ter do?

I think they would try to knock the wall down, or to dis­man­tle it, or to climb over it, or to loosen the mor­tar between the bricks, or to find a hole in the wall and make it big­ger so they could look through.

This is what I am going to do.

But the unusual thing about this wall is that it knows it is a wall. Most walls don’t have this self-knowledge. They just are. I rarely come across such an interesting and beguiling example. This wall won’t lash out like other walls do as it knows better. It probably really wants to be knocked the hell down. But I will be gentle with it.  Dialectics is a delicate art. I think I can see a chink already.

Shakespeare knows what I am saying. Genet would prob­a­bly approve as well.

It’s only a wall after all.

A Midummer Night’s Dream, Act V Scene 1

  • Flute. [as Thisbe] O wall, full often hast thou heard my moans,
    For parting my fair Pyramus and me!
    My cherry lips have often kiss’d thy stones,
    Thy stones with lime and hair knit up in thee. 2035
  • Bottom. I see a voice: now will I to the chink,
    To spy an I can hear my Thisby’s face. Thisby!
  • Flute. [as Thisbe] My love thou art, my love I think.
  • Bottom. Think what thou wilt, I am thy lover’s grace;
    And, like Limander, am I trusty still. 2040
  • Flute. [as Thisbe] And I like Helen, till the Fates me kill.
  • Bottom. Not Shafalus to Procrus was so true.
  • Flute. [as Thisbe] As Shafalus to Procrus, I to you.
  • Bottom. O kiss me through the hole of this vile wall!
  • Flute. [as Thisbe] I kiss the wall’s hole, not your lips at all. 2045
  • Bottom. Wilt thou at Ninny’s tomb meet me straightway?
  • Flute. [as Thisbe] ‘Tide life, ‘tide death, I come without delay.

[Exeunt Pyramus and Thisbe]

Snout. [as Wall] Thus have I, Wall, my part discharged so;
And, being done, thus Wall away doth go.

 

Comments
  1. Well, it’s a wall if you say it is, QRG. Enjoy!

  2. sadly, it is indeed a wall.

  3. No! I hadn’t taken you for a literalist…

  4. not quite literal but literally a ‘wall’ that hinders communication and nothing more exciting or physical or sexy than that!

Leave a Reply

