No Homo #2

Posted: November 5, 2010 in Uncategorized

Guy Hocquenghem:

The traditional queen, nice or nasty, lover of thugs, aficianado of public urinals-all the colourful types inherited from the nineteenth century have vanished before the reassuring modernity of the (young) homosexual (between 25 and 40), sporting a mustache and attache case, without neuroses or affectations, cold and polite, the ad executive or department store clerk, the enemy of outrageous behaviour, respectful of authority, lover of enlightened liberalism and culture. Gone are the sordid and the grandiose, the odd and the nasty, sadomasochism itself is now only a clothing style for proper queens.

This quote was taken from Martel’s The Pink and The Black (1996) and I don’t know when it was actually originally stated. Probably the early 1980s. Seems pretty relevant to today’s ‘metrosexual’ culture to me.

But people, including homosexual people, still have urges to be nice, nasty, sordid, grandiose, odd, thuggish, sadistic, masochistic… we are still neurotic. Where does all that energy go?

Comments
  1. hmm says:

    The energy goes into finding balance, optimizing your survival to be the most successful mediocrity you can be. So people will like you.

    God knows these metrosexuals aren’t out to “be somebody” in this world.

    What is the more powerful force in metrosexuality (it’s not an unquestionable fact, just one theory, you know)?
    The metropolis’ urban squeezing of the disproportionate into the norm
    or sexual frills added to a “normal” person?

  2. hmm says:

    What a crazy photo. I think I knew that guy once, 3 or 4 or 10 times. And I was always jealous I couldn’t be him. And I think he was jealous he couldn’t be me. And I think we look pretty likewise. AAAAggghhh we’re all clones ! ! No, pods, really.

  3. hmm says:

    If martel is any good an observer, that passage must be from the eighties. A mustache in the 1990s ? Only the grodiest pipe smokers still dare to sport a mustache. And they likely have mutton chop sideburns. And they’re likely the only one within 10 square miles (or more than 10 kilometers) doing so. And they probably gross you out as abnormal and a bit scary, in this, our most tolerant society ever.

  4. hmm says:

    I’m talking about serious moustaches here, not a few days old shadow by guys who feel too effete shaving every day to be “clean” of hair. Although, I confess, I feel like I’m the last person on earth who does that. I haven’t seen a guy with a shadow, if he didn’t have just a beard and was at least 39, in AGES. I’m not even sure why some fashion adverts still have a “sexy shadow” on the model’s face anymore. In todays hypersmooth obsessive depilatory masculinity, those guys seem almost primevally atavistic and even neanderthal-degenerate. We’ve come so far.

  5. hmm says:

    Maybe we’re not neurotic anymore. People who are have become so conspicuous their neurotic has become like the new psychotic. When I meet someone who has hang ups or is a bit nervous, I think to myself “what a LUNATIC, s/he’s still on THAT kick?”.

    I guess structuralism without freud can become reality after all. Maybe humanity just isn’t interesting enough, when we figure out how to get healthy enough.

  6. brilliant essay, hmm.

    I remain proudly neurotic. Though I do not express it in that horrendous ‘confessional’ kind of woody allen way that was probably cool at some point in time.

    the thought of everyone’s minds being as healthy as their metro-gym-toned bodies makes me feel positively ill.

    yes the moustache comment stood out for me as a signifier of when that was written. the quote was by Guy Hugenghem. I think he had a book out in 1980. I will check.

  7. Pop Fop says:

    I think part of that energy dissipated when being gay became all about making everybody accept you rather than having the right to be who you are no matter what others think.

    Sorry if that all sounds a bit pop psychology, but it was the easiest way for me to condense it.

Leave a Reply

