A Novel Idea

Posted: October 29, 2010 in Uncategorized

I have made a commitment to join the nation’s scribblers in November’s National Novel Writing Month:

http://www.nanowrimo.org/

The idea is you write a whole novel in a month. This sounds crazy to me. But I am going to do it.

I have already started and though it sounds impossible, I do  like the thought of actually producing a draft in such a short space of time.

There is a quote by a writer that has stuck in my head ever since I first read it:

‘If you want to be a good writer, write‘.

And so I write. I am not sure how this will affect my blogging. I might put some excerpts up as I go, or just use this space to moan about how awful writing is. Or I might use it to procrastinate and carry on with my usual ramblings and not write a novel at all. I don’t know! I am nervous, because I am arrogant. And I hate to fail. And this is the kind of project that is eminently failable. It took me four years to write my PhD and that didn’t even have a story.

SO if things start to look a little ragged out here you will know why.

If any of you are also joining National NowriMo, add me as your buddy: Quiet Riot Girl.

How hard can it be, eh?

XQRG

Photo taken from http://www.sexgenderbody.tumblr.com

Leave a Reply

