The Notebook Diaries #2: Getting It Back

Posted: June 24, 2010 in Writing

I got the notebook back last night. I could tell by the way it looked a little bit ‘lived in’ that he had used it as I intended. I could also tell, that the experience of carrying the notebook around had affected him, not in the same way, probably, but as it had also affected me.

He wanted to read from his entries but I said no. Suddenly seeing it there in real life analogue again, with him sat there beside me, I felt shy about the words I’d scrawled. I started to wish I hadn’t got it out that time on the tube when I was pissed. He did say that I ‘lost it a bit in the middle’. Too right I did.

When we parted I decided not to read what he had written, not yet anyway. The notebook was burning a hole in my bag and all I could think of was how to get rid of it. Luckily or rather cleverly, I had already made a date with the next potential ‘guardian’ for the following day. The hot potato would be out of my hands again very soon.

I hope the next person agrees to take part. I hope that he enjoys reading the personal confessions of two strangers. I hope he doesn’t think I am a complete headcase. Or if he does, that he realises this little band of secret scribblers have self-selected to a degree.

The notebook belongs to all of us. We just don’t like to admit it out loud.

Comments
  1. I feel a bit bad that I didn’t really let him share the moment of having written in it, which actually meant a lot to me. I got rather defensive for some reason. I think it is to do with the honesty of the process. I didn’t realise that writing ‘collaboratively’ alone but together would be so hard. I will make it up to him but possibly in ways that he may not initially appreciate😉 #writingtalk

  2. The next fucker didn’t take the notebook but he still made an entry in it. I let somebody break my rules! Dammit. Oh well, rules and chairs are made to be sat on. I have no clue what will happen next.

  3. I have written another entry, it was the only way I could really get it back. I am going to be careful about who I next give it away too this time…

Leave a Reply

