#Shoutaboutsex

Posted: June 7, 2010 in Writing

I am not called QUIET riot girl for nothing. I am a reticent kind of person.

You might not realise that from reading this blog!

When #SHOUTABOUTSEX appeared on twitter as  a hashtag today, I joined in with great enthusiasm. I expect the followers of my twitterfeed found it just another day of me shouting about sex!

Some people have made comments to the effect that I talk too much about sex, and push it down people’s throats. Some seem to think I am ‘showing off’ though what about, I do not know (see #myths about sex bloggers #23: sex bloggers don’t necessarily have as much sex as you might think).

Silence about sex is very dangerous and bad for our health and well-being.

I am interested in sex and sexuality for all sorts of reasons.  You should be glad that I and others are prepared to talk openly about a subject many people refuse to discuss. I have been delighted and humbled to find that when I talk about sex it encourages others to join in the conversation.

I value every comment and conversation I have about sex via this blog.

I wish when I was younger, I’d known my older, more open and liberated self. She  might have been able to give me some good advice and a listening ear.  I want young people to grow up interested in and informed about sex, sexuality and sexual politics.

I hope my words make some kind of difference.

I won’t be shouting anymore; that was a one off. But I won’t shut up either.

Comments
  1. Matt says:

    Glad you won’t be discouraged QRG! Shout when shouting’s required, reason when reasoning’s required, whisper when necessary.

  2. 52seductions says:

    I’m all for shouting.

    I’ll be eternally grateful that I got the courage to start shouting about my inadequacies – this has now led to me having some adequacies to shout about instead!

  3. I’d be crushed if you *did* shut up. Just sayin’.🙂

  4. Thanks everyone. I am duly spurred on…

Leave a Reply

