Twinsome Devils Revisited?

Posted: May 8, 2011 in Uncategorized

I couldn’t help but notice this ad, placed as it was so provocatively in the middle-class, middle England Times Newspaper (magazine section).

Once I’d managed to take my eyes off the male model’s arse. It’s a very good arse. I wondered what was going on?

The ad is for perfume and the male and female model are both stark bollocks naked, but, this is The Times Newspaper and so you can’t actually see any bollocks.

What really struck me though, was how similar the two models look. They could be brother and sister. They both have a quite androgynous feel to them, their bodies are pretty well the same build, give or take a few muscles,  and secondary sexual characteristics are hidden, so they actually appear quite sex-less.

But just in case you were worried about the man’s manhood, the woman is pouring the cologne/water all over the man’s crotch area, producing a kind of waterfall phallus.

I would like to think my analysis here was somehow new and original but I am afraid that as usual Mark ‘Metrosexy’ Simpson got there before me.

In this article below he points to a D and G ad featuring ‘clonosexual’ pairs of same-sex couples, who turn out to be mirror images of each other, bringing narcissism to its natural, self-regarding climax.

This may be another indication of the ‘end of sexuality’. The pair in the Tom Ford ad, like the models/actors throughout Tom Ford’s oeuvre, are kind of asexual/post-sexual.

But if the end of sexuality has as fine an ass as this, I am not going to complain too much.

http://fashioncopious.typepad.com/fashioncopious/2011/04/tom-ford-neroli-portofino-beauty-campaign.html

Comments
  1. an interesting aside, I didn’t know bollocks meant testicles til I looked it up just now…..

    Of course I had heard of the Sex Pistols “Never Mind the Bollocks….”

    I guess I’m a dumb American……

  2. Elise says:

    Haha and of course I did complain about his arse! This summer of pure rain has made me dour. *pulls on raincoat, puts on Smiths*

  3. Elise says:

    Back in the early 90s, when I was a trend-spotting proto-hipster, D&G started running ads of androgynous bohemians that made me think of the Pre-Raphaelites, and I thought it indicated a New Decadence for the turn-of-the-millennium. But of course, pop experiments with androgyny extended back to Bowie in the 70s (maybe second-wave feminism had an influence too) and there seems to be no end to it now. I suppose, though, as ever, the majority of men and women feel quite comfortably “masculine” and “feminine” and wouldn’t know there’s a revolution in gender expression going on. The only extent to which they ever will know is that in 10 years it’ll be normal for all men to moisturize, like it’s been normal for girls to wear pants for decades! Or, er, trousers, in your parts, I think.

  4. In light of this post I think you’d find this image I came across today interesting:

    http://androphilia.tumblr.com/post/6725141031

    (Also, blog has loads of nice male asses in it!)

  5. [...] Since Simpson wrote his excellent piece inspired by D and G – ‘twinsome devils and the narcissus complex’ visual culture has become full of ‘ twins ’: [...]

Leave a Reply

