Carrie Bradshaw is Dead. Long Live Metro-Man.

Posted: October 30, 2010 in Blogging, Masculinities, Uncategorized
Tags: , ,

I just found out about  Fuck Yeah Menswear

via an article in Slate

I don’t think this makes me ‘on point’, but it means I have at least some tiny comprehension of who, or what is.

Go look. It is hilarious and terrifying at the same time.

My conclusion is: women’s fashion has died, along with Carrie Bradshaw and The Sex in The City Franchise.

And when I say died, of course I mean ‘has been murdered’. And we all know who the killer is don’t we?

Yes, he is better looking than us, better dressed, and more knowledgeable about clothes, style, language, music, showbiz, everything really. We may as well all just go round in sack cloths and ashes. Or kill ourselves. Whichever is less shameful.

Here is the kind of thing the modern metro man might be talking about, if he would ever stoop to talk to us:

‘Late last night I had a vision.

A world with no blogs.

No Tumblr.

No Twitter.

Not even fucking elbow patches.

It was horrible.

In a world without swag how does one stunt?

How does one stunt in a world without swag?

A cycle perpetuated by clearance racks at Kohl’s.

The finest men of my generation.

Those known for the crispyest kits.

Those known for the sickest fits.

Those known for tweeting the most ridonkulous sample sales.

Those known for taking pictures of themselves in public restrooms.

Those known for reblogging the steeziest street skeezers.

My heroes.

My brethren.

My bros.

Were suddenly different.

An entire generation lost in space.

And time…’

You see what I mean? All that and he even knows Ginsberg.

Where is my .38 I am out of here.

http://howtotalktogirlsatparties.tumblr.com/ has linked to this post. I don’t know whether to be flattered, or scared…

Comments
  1. Something tells me James Franco would be proud.

  2. Maybe Fuckyeahmenswear IS James Franco. You just never know in this day and age!

  3. Wonderful writing!, very interesting. Just the correct idea I’ve been searching. Continue making stuff like this, expexting for more of your new posts! Thanks.

  4. [...] Mike The Situation Sorentino, transported from Jersey Shore to The Hamptons via Williamsburgh,’  Quiet Riot Girl tells me. ‘This has really done my head in. He has subsumed everything into his steeze, bros. [...]

  5. [...] Sorentino, trans­ported from Jer­sey Shore to The Hamp­tons via Williams­burgh,’  Quiet Riot Girl tells me. ‘This has really done my head in. He has sub­sumed every­thing into his steeze, bros. [...]

Leave a Reply

